Poser11 Pro .... A Big Jump From P4 !!


Page 2 of 2
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 

Post Re: Poser11 Pro .... A Big Jump From P4 !!

#16  Nik 24 Apr 2017 20:09

I reckon my blundering around the BIOS on CAD Tower has left the UEFI options 'conflicted'.

Must google for UEFI option tutorials, pull drive, re-format and try again...
 



 
avatar
uk.png Nik Gender: Male
Forums Veteran
Forums Veteran
Life + 1
Life + 1
 
Joined: December 2003
Posts: 479
Tomatoes 3780
Lemons 3242
hearts 30

  • Back to top Page bottom
 

Post Re: Poser11 Pro .... A Big Jump From P4 !!

#17  Nik 30 Apr 2017 01:05

Yes, I had stepped on the UEFI options. Resetting the BIOS' CMOS, wiping the C: Drive and starting over solved all that.

To be sure, to be sure, I re-booted windows 10 as soon as it settled, to get a clean boot record. THEN I began loading essentials such as Chrome, T-bird, IrfanView etc.

Happily, I didn't have to drill out the old PC's case's side-panel rivets. On very close inspection, they were 'anti-tamper' screws, and I had a matching bit.

So, today, I powered it down, connected my USB-IDE/SATA adaptor to the C: drive, linked it to the CAD Tower and set to work. Of course, Windows complained I'd no authority to access the user files. Difference was I could use the CAD Tower's admin account to over-ride the veto.
 

Took several minutes to process the files' attributes, but now I could get at those files.

I copied the entire t-bird profile across to E: on tower, then Chrome's bookmarks.

T-bird site's FAQ etc recommended getting a free I/O plug-in to ease imports etc. With that, I was able to selectively retrieve some essential e-mails. I just copied the address-books over the new-start's empties.
     
I did much the same for Chrome.
     
Job done ?? Well, almost...

I'll have to shuffle DVI cables about, copy a lot of files across to E: before starting to install the CAD suite six months later than planned...

There will now be a short interlude while I load and register a bunch of stuff..
 



 
avatar
uk.png Nik Gender: Male
Forums Veteran
Forums Veteran
Life + 1
Life + 1
 
Joined: December 2003
Posts: 479
Tomatoes 3780
Lemons 3242
hearts 30

  • Back to top Page bottom
 

Post Re: Poser11 Pro .... A Big Jump From P4 !!

#18  ahjah 30 Apr 2017 01:35

That's good news
 




____________
Image
 
avatar
blank.gif ahjah Gender: Male
Posette enthusiast
Posette enthusiast
Life + 1
Life + 1
Chief
Chief
Old Timer
Old Timer
 
Joined: April 2003
Location: detmold/germany
Posts: 2605
Tomatoes 2430
Lemons 399
hearts 1804

  • Back to top Page bottom
 

Post Re: Poser11 Pro .... A Big Jump From P4 !!

#19  Nik 02 May 2017 00:41

I couldn't do a full 'system refresh' on old PC; it kept asking for the ruddy password of that corrupted profile. At least the broken [+] right-click menu works again...

I switched the USB label and laser printers to the CAD Tower's ports, and they're happy.

Rather than do a 'factory' wipe, I've deferred that option and hooked the PC to the fourth, smaller display instead of its previous two wide-screens. As you see, that pre-loved screen, $5 from charity shop, works just fine...

FWIW, without the overheads of the Display Link external graphics module's USB driver, this PC now runs a lot faster...

I transferred the DVI cables from those wide-screens to the CAD Tower, making three up. Two on one card, one on the other. At which point, the serial angst resumed.

NVIDIA utilities found all three screens, but did not 'engage' with third. Windows' display menu found all three, extended display across all of them, then promptly forgot about the third and reverted to two. Rinse and repeat.

After much trying of obscure options and swapping of cables, I'd exhausted all practicable possibilities save one; update driver. The Gigabyte site was reluctant to admit this card type existed, then offered an earlier version than installed. A tiny, tiny footnote linked to NVIDIA's own site. There, I needed five minutes to identify the card family, five to down-load latest stable driver version, five to install it.

Ping ! This time, the NVIDIA utility engaged with all three screens, and everything works as it should.
           
Phew.

Rather than just load up my CAD suite, I'm going to have a quiet think about how best to organise 'external run-times' and such. Splitting my sprawling 'Nik Files' directory tree into 'Science', 'Fiction', 'CAD' and 'OtherStuff' appeals. With not RAIDing the 2nd & 3rd WD Blacks, I've an extra drive to use, one I can set to spin-down promptly...

I've still got to decide what to do with this old PC's assortment of programs, but most of them are free, and could do with being up-dated. I'm considering making a list of fun stuff, doing a 'factory restore' then starting clean...

But NOT tonight !!!
===

ps: Spouse's beloved LFC beat Watford FC 0:1 'away' tonight, earning three 'League' points and keeping them in the race for a 'European' place next season...
 



 
avatar
uk.png Nik Gender: Male
Forums Veteran
Forums Veteran
Life + 1
Life + 1
 
Joined: December 2003
Posts: 479
Tomatoes 3780
Lemons 3242
hearts 30

  • Back to top Page bottom
 

Post External Runtimes...

#20  Nik 08 May 2017 16:07

I've begun sorting through the sprawling directory tree of Poser stuff I've 'ported' from this old 'desktop' PC.

There's a heap of 3DS & OBJ mesh freebies from my TurboCAD & FloorPlan days, most being 'Medieval-ish' and really lo-rez. There's 'Classic' freebies I used in Poser 3. Lots of freebies I collected while using Poser 4. More freebies collected ahead of upgrade to Poser 7, but that CAD PC died horribly between my buying P7 and installing it. Many zips survived, my Runtime & back-up didn't...

I collected a lot of freebies last year, many 'duplicating' old files, but now bug-free, with thumb-nail piccies.

And, yes, my PayPal account means I dared *buy* some sets, props etc that are far, far beyond my rusty CAD skills, never mind my utter lack of 'artistry'....

Spent much of last night trying to survey the many, many 'sets' I've acquired. Too soon to begin 'organising' them...

There's ancient, old, modern, future/sci-fi and 'fantasy' buildings, variously externals and/or internals, intact, abandoned, wrecked or ruined.

There's an unhealthy bunch of dungeons, caves, sewers and half-flooded fortifications. Don't forget your HAZMAT suit, gas-mask and Geiger counter.

There's a LOT of 'set dressing' props, some of them seriously scary...

{ Hey, what better use for a so-smug Vicky4 than to tie her up for Posette, Aiko3 & AiBot to rescue ??    }

My 'Alien Zoo' will need a lot more space than expected, and xenocidal Daleks need more than a moat to contain them...

I seem to be short of 'Human Villains'; they'll need a fresh trawl of the usual freebie sites, their uniform /logo templates tweaking plus 'facial morphs'.

I'm still on the Win'10 learning curve, of course, of course. Somewhere, surely, there MUST be an option to send serial downloads somewhere useful, instead of defaulting to the 'downloads' directory...

D'uh...

Upside, the CAD Tower 'feels' much, much faster than this old 'desktop' system. In fact, it is faster than the worn-out trackball I've connected. A new one, wired for minimal latency, is coming from Amazon...

And, while shifting stuff around in 'box room', I've found my '3D Connexion' 'Space Navigator' that wouldn't work with the old CAD Tower's version of TurboCAD...
 



 
avatar
uk.png Nik Gender: Male
Forums Veteran
Forums Veteran
Life + 1
Life + 1
 
Joined: December 2003
Posts: 479
Tomatoes 3780
Lemons 3242
hearts 30

  • Back to top Page bottom
 

Post Re: Poser11 Pro .... A Big Jump From P4 !!

#21  Nik 18 May 2017 16:56

Six months late, I'm finally, finally installing Poser 11 Pro. (X64)

( Not a 'friendly' installer, hard to start, not enough progress info etc etc...)

Now printing the extensive 'ReadMe' on desk's Samsung B&W laser printer, and the 'Reference Card' set on the desk's HP all-in-one. Aha, latter is *legible*. If wasn't, 'Plan_B' was sending that set to the networked 'A3' printer, where it would, as ever, tile the floor then be slept on by a quorum of cats...

Default P11Pro set-up is weird. The 'RunTime' seems to be in the wrong place, stuffed with system-ish files I don't recognise, minus the familiar sub-directories I'd expected.

Perhaps there's another, some-where ??
Hmm...

And what does a 'Queue Manager' do with Poser ? Or vice-versa ??
Hmm...

Ooh, there's a 'QuickStart' guide, too !! And I'll have to copy these guides plus the mountainous PDF 'Reference Manual' to some-where accessible. I may copy them across to this 'Browser PC' so I can get a fourth screen of info...

Still have not tried to decide how to organise or locate the multiple, multiple directories I'll need in 'External RunTime'. Cannot make sense of the arcane 'DO NOT' info in the 'ReadMe'. But, if you don't do such bad placements, is everything else okay ??
D'uh...

Okay, I've set my first piton in the learning curve's near-vertical rock-face, will attach safety lines, explore the 'foot-hills' and report back...
 



 
avatar
uk.png Nik Gender: Male
Forums Veteran
Forums Veteran
Life + 1
Life + 1
 
Joined: December 2003
Posts: 479
Tomatoes 3780
Lemons 3242
hearts 30

  • Back to top Page bottom
 

Post Re: Poser11 Pro .... A Big Jump From P4 !!

#22  Nik 18 May 2017 19:17

Download Manager said I had a bunch of resources available for down-load, plus a Poser update.

Then it said I had to un-install Poser before I could load the update...

Not sure what's going on...

Oh ? The updated Poser wants me to re-register ?? And enter the 'from P10' serial, too ?? After I gave it when I bought the upgrade ??
That's a bit annoying...
 



 
avatar
uk.png Nik Gender: Male
Forums Veteran
Forums Veteran
Life + 1
Life + 1
 
Joined: December 2003
Posts: 479
Tomatoes 3780
Lemons 3242
hearts 30

  • Back to top Page bottom
 

Post Re: Poser11 Pro .... A Big Jump From P4 !!

#23  Nik 18 May 2017 19:42

Okay, the huge content pack is now down-loaded. I managed to put a semi-skeletal robot --The default Default figure-- in the middle of an office.

Then I tried to change the view using my un-used, decade-old 'Space Navigator' I thought I'd lost but found during our house-move...
SWOOSH !!!

Uh, what's *beyond* 'hyper-sensitive' ??

If Posy just ducked a low-flying office with a robot clinging to its door-frame, you know whose it was...
     
 



 
avatar
uk.png Nik Gender: Male
Forums Veteran
Forums Veteran
Life + 1
Life + 1
 
Joined: December 2003
Posts: 479
Tomatoes 3780
Lemons 3242
hearts 30

  • Back to top Page bottom
 


HideWas this topic useful?
Link this topic
URL
BBCode
HTML
HideSimilar Topics
Topic Author Forum Replies Last Post
No new posts Okay, don't everyone jump at once guiltypleasures Short Stories 3 12 Jul 2003 03:16 View latest post
Tormie

Page 2 of 2
Goto page Previous  1, 2



Users browsing this topic: 0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 0 Visitors
Registered Users: None