Poser11 Pro .... A Big Jump From P4 !!


Page 6 of 6
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
 

Post Re: Poser11 Pro .... A Big Jump From P4 !!

#76  Nik 30 Jan 2018 16:26

Tried to print a page, discovered my HP series A3 networked printer will no longer talk to Windows 10. Downloaded enormous new driver pack, went through everything, ran a test page, fine.

But print a document ? Forget it !!
 
Un-install, re-install, does everything but actually print a document....
   
Rinse & repeat, still no document printing...
     

Enough is enough. It is headed for the re-cycle.

A new all-in-one printer with an A3 scan bed, a document feeder and DUAL paper trays is arriving next week...
 



 
avatar
uk.png Nik Gender: Male
Power User
Power User
Life + 1
Life + 1
 
Joined: December 2003
Posts: 550
Tomatoes 4450
Lemons 3292
hearts 50

  • Back to top Page bottom
 

Post Re: Poser11 Pro .... A Big Jump From P4 !!

#77  Nik 02 Feb 2018 00:10

Printer was supposed to arrive Monday, but successive e-mails claimed Saturday, then Friday. So today, Thursday, I dashed out for some groceries, got home to a card on the mat, 'While You Were Out'. Yes, its HUGE crate was cyber-squatting a bemused neighbour's door-mat like a mini-Tardis. Took my fulsome apologies, my folding sack-truck and several bungee ties to get it home...

Only problem was the menu which told the Beast that Tray #02 held A3 rather than more of Tray #01's A4 was deeply, deeply buried down the 'supervisor' options. Logic was this let you lock down such options with a password, preventing expensive 'Oops'. But, surely, such options should be readily accessible *until* locked down ?

D'uh...
 



 
avatar
uk.png Nik Gender: Male
Power User
Power User
Life + 1
Life + 1
 
Joined: December 2003
Posts: 550
Tomatoes 4450
Lemons 3292
hearts 50

  • Back to top Page bottom
 

Post Re: Poser11 Pro .... A Big Jump From P4 !!

#78  Nik 05 Feb 2018 19:00

With re-arranging some of my Medieval-ish plan's rooms, I've now realised I need some new 'grand' arches after all. Upside, they should look really, really good...
 



 
avatar
uk.png Nik Gender: Male
Power User
Power User
Life + 1
Life + 1
 
Joined: December 2003
Posts: 550
Tomatoes 4450
Lemons 3292
hearts 50

  • Back to top Page bottom
 

Post Re: Poser11 Pro .... A Big Jump From P4 !!

#79  Nik 06 Feb 2018 20:14

I've made a 150 x 150 cm worktop out of plywood and twin-slot shelving risers, ready for laying out Lego or paper plans to allow an 'overall' view of my Medieval-ish project.

I've an 'admin' day tomorrow, then hope to attack TurboCAD, re-boot my familiarity with the complex menus...
 



 
avatar
uk.png Nik Gender: Male
Power User
Power User
Life + 1
Life + 1
 
Joined: December 2003
Posts: 550
Tomatoes 4450
Lemons 3292
hearts 50

  • Back to top Page bottom
 

Post Re: Poser11 Pro .... A Big Jump From P4 !!

#80  Nik 07 Feb 2018 23:02

Making the semi-circle of arch bricks ('Voussoirs') baffled me.
1) It was easy.
2) I forget how...

Digging through the vast TurboCAD PDF manual (1541 pages   ) looking for something else, I found a tool which makes rotated copies. It can variously turn eg a thin, flat sheet into a 'Vegas' fan of cards or a kitchen fruit segmenter.

The resulting whatsit, appropriately applied as a 3D Boolean, can chop a solid arch into an array of evenly gapped bricks...

Or, create an arch from one (1) wedge-shaped brick ??

Whatever, it is an essential piece in the work-flow jigsaw !!
 



 
avatar
uk.png Nik Gender: Male
Power User
Power User
Life + 1
Life + 1
 
Joined: December 2003
Posts: 550
Tomatoes 4450
Lemons 3292
hearts 50

  • Back to top Page bottom
 

Post Re: Poser11 Pro .... A Big Jump From P4 !!

#81  Nik 15 Apr 2018 23:23

Haven't done much with Poser for several weeks. Each time I tried, I got totally snarled in the clothing menus. Well, TurboCAD was going no-where fast, either !

Took time out to do DIY --Trailed some Cat6 cable, got all my IPCAMs working, fitted an infrared floodlight to cover a 'dark spot'.

Played around with PMX editor, exported several neat Anime MMD figures via OBJ to Poser, posted render of one cute poppet.

As most outfits are ambidextrous, took me a while to notice-- They appear in Poser swapped L/R from the PMX !!

Must be *something* in the OBJ import options I've missed-- Any ideas ??
 



 
avatar
uk.png Nik Gender: Male
Power User
Power User
Life + 1
Life + 1
 
Joined: December 2003
Posts: 550
Tomatoes 4450
Lemons 3292
hearts 50

  • Back to top Page bottom
 

Post Re: Poser11 Pro .... A Big Jump From P4 !!

#82  ahjah 16 Apr 2018 03:13

Hi Nik

I haven't done anything with Poser since month...
Getting Spring here, finally, so I spend more time outdoors, what's a good thing after all

About the import option... it says you can flip  U and V texture coordinates. I never tried anything with it.


Good luck, I need some sleep
 




____________
Image
 
avatar
blank.gif ahjah Gender: Male
Posette enthusiast
Posette enthusiast
Life + 1
Life + 1
Chief
Chief
Old Timer
Old Timer
 
Joined: April 2003
Location: detmold/germany
Posts: 2642
Tomatoes 2770
Lemons 447
hearts 1865

  • Back to top Page bottom
 

Post Re: Poser11 Pro .... A Big Jump From P4 !!

#83  Nik 16 Apr 2018 15:12

The Poser UV texture options did not seem to make a difference.

Fix was to use obscure 'Mirror' option in the PMX editor prior to export.
PmxView, Edit(E), Mirror Model (M), Are you sure ? Yes/No.
     
 



 
avatar
uk.png Nik Gender: Male
Power User
Power User
Life + 1
Life + 1
 
Joined: December 2003
Posts: 550
Tomatoes 4450
Lemons 3292
hearts 50

  • Back to top Page bottom
 

Post Re: Poser11 Pro .... A Big Jump From P4 !!

#84  ahjah 16 Apr 2018 20:47

Good it worked A workaround would have been to use Blender or Wings3D for this job...
 




____________
Image
 
avatar
blank.gif ahjah Gender: Male
Posette enthusiast
Posette enthusiast
Life + 1
Life + 1
Chief
Chief
Old Timer
Old Timer
 
Joined: April 2003
Location: detmold/germany
Posts: 2642
Tomatoes 2770
Lemons 447
hearts 1865

  • Back to top Page bottom
 

Post Re: Poser11 Pro .... A Big Jump From P4 !!

#85  milbankjv 19 Apr 2018 03:41

I had been using Poser 11.1 on macOS High Sierra until March 22 of this year. When I try to start the program, I now get an error message: "Maximum number of activations for this license has been exceeded." I had activated the Fitting Room in hope of expanding the wardrobes of some third-party human figures, such as the Sixus1 Project Human couple.

For now, I am falling back on DAZ Studio 4.10 and Poser 10. Do I need to buy another license for Poser 11?
 



 
avatar
us.png milbankjv Gender: Male
Potential Regular
Potential Regular
Life + 1
Life + 1
 
Joined: July 2005
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 3
Tomatoes 20
Lemons 14
hearts 25

  • Back to top Page bottom
 

Post Re: Poser11 Pro .... A Big Jump From P4 !!

#86  Nik 19 Apr 2018 21:36

I'm sorry, I have no idea how the Mac version is licensed. Have you re-installed several time ? Switched to better hardware without un-installing program from old kit ? Transferred to an SSD ??

May I suggest contacting Smith Micro directly, as they would have records of the installs ?
If the hardware those ran on is now trash, they should be able to help.

One way for them to be sure, to be sure is to send you a new license number. You'd have to un-install every instance of old, blocked license, then register with the new one.

Make sure your libraries are safe before then !!
 



 
avatar
uk.png Nik Gender: Male
Power User
Power User
Life + 1
Life + 1
 
Joined: December 2003
Posts: 550
Tomatoes 4450
Lemons 3292
hearts 50

  • Back to top Page bottom
 

Post Re: Poser11 Pro .... A Big Jump From P4 !!

#87  ahjah 19 Apr 2018 21:50

No help from me either, sorry. I'm still stuck with P7...
 




____________
Image
 
avatar
blank.gif ahjah Gender: Male
Posette enthusiast
Posette enthusiast
Life + 1
Life + 1
Chief
Chief
Old Timer
Old Timer
 
Joined: April 2003
Location: detmold/germany
Posts: 2642
Tomatoes 2770
Lemons 447
hearts 1865

  • Back to top Page bottom
 

Post Re: Poser11 Pro .... A Big Jump From P4 !!

#88  milbankjv 19 Apr 2018 23:06

Nik wrote: [View Post]
I'm sorry, I have no idea how the Mac version is licensed. Have you re-installed several time ? Switched to better hardware without un-installing program from old kit ? Transferred to an SSD ??

May I suggest contacting Smith Micro directly, as they would have records of the installs ?
If the hardware those ran on is now trash, they should be able to help.

One way for them to be sure, to be sure is to send you a new license number. You'd have to un-install every instance of old, blocked license, then register with the new one.

Make sure your libraries are safe before then !!


Nik, I went to the Smith Micro site and found License Manager in the Support menu. Unfortunately, the sign-in form won't accept my username and password. But I have backups of Poser Pro 11.1 and all my downloaded/purchased content on an external drive.
 



 
avatar
us.png milbankjv Gender: Male
Potential Regular
Potential Regular
Life + 1
Life + 1
 
Joined: July 2005
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 3
Tomatoes 20
Lemons 14
hearts 25

  • Back to top Page bottom
 

Post Re: Poser11 Pro .... A Big Jump From P4 !!

#89  Nik 20 Apr 2018 19:01

Have you tried using the 'Reset my Password' facility ?

IMHO, SM do make contacting them harder than necessary...
 



 
avatar
uk.png Nik Gender: Male
Power User
Power User
Life + 1
Life + 1
 
Joined: December 2003
Posts: 550
Tomatoes 4450
Lemons 3292
hearts 50

  • Back to top Page bottom
 


HideWas this topic useful?
Link this topic
URL
BBCode
HTML
HideSimilar Topics
Topic Author Forum Replies Last Post
No new posts Okay, don't everyone jump at once guiltypleasures Short Stories 3 12 Jul 2003 03:16 View latest post
Tormie

Page 6 of 6
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6



Users browsing this topic: 0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 0 Visitors
Registered Users: None