Just Curious: Why Is Poser 6 So Slow?


Page 1 of 1
 
 

Post Just Curious: Why Is Poser 6 So Slow?

#1  rico 17 Jan 2021 14:39

Hi there, I hope you're wll!

 

This is just a question for curiosity. It is not a problem for which I'm seeking advice or a solution for at this time.

32-bit Poser 4, 32-bit Poser 6 and 64-bit Poser 11 are on my laptop, running on 64-bit Windows 10.

I've read about & experienced some of the limitations of Poser 6.

---

For example, if I set its Firefly render setting to maximum before a render, then, if the object or scene is big or very detailed, Poser 6 might not render it. Poser 6 will say that I've run out of memory, but it's not true.

The same object or scene renders fine in Poser 4 and Poser 11.

So, I in Poser 6's Firefly engine, I have to put it on a lower quality setting for the render to be completed. That's one limitation.

---

But, what I'm most surprised about is how slow Poser 6's file handling is on 64-bit Windows 10.

For example, if I have a DAZ character, like M3, and I don't have M3's Morph Pack, then Poser 6 will obviously ask me to locate the missing files from the Morph Pack. If there's 100 morphs for M3, it will look for 200 morph files.

If you tell Poser 6 to continue looking for missing files, then it can take 5 minutes to look for 1 file... so, looking for 5x200 files = 1000 minutes of waiting .

---

Just out of curiosity, does anyone know why Poser 6 takes so long to look for 1 file on 64-bit Windows 10?

 

(On the same computer, Poser 11 takes only 3 seconds to search for the same file.)
 



 
Last edited by rico on 17 Jan 2021 14:39; edited 2 times in total 
avatar
 rico Gender: Male
Not Too Shy To Talk
Not Too Shy To Talk
Ese
Ese
 
Warnings: 1 
Joined: April 2019
Posts: 73
Tomatoes 630
Lemons 92
hearts 77

  • Back to top Page bottom
 

Post Re: Just Curious: Why Is Poser 6 So Slow?

#2  ahjah 17 Jan 2021 17:10

Hi rico.
I'm not completely sure. I'm running P7(32bit as well) on Win7/64, and it works just fine.
I remember for P4 had been a hack for the .exe around to take advantage of more memory. it was a real hack and you needed a hex editor for it, but I don't remember how to do it, and I don't know if it applied for P6 too
 




____________
Image
 
avatar
blank.gif ahjah Gender: Male
Posette enthusiast
Posette enthusiast
Life + 1
Life + 1
Chief
Chief
Old Timer
Old Timer
 
Joined: April 2003
Location: detmold/germany
Posts: 2755
Tomatoes 3720
Lemons 493
hearts 2030

  • Back to top Page bottom
 

Post Re: Just Curious: Why Is Poser 6 So Slow?

#3  rico 17 Jan 2021 18:14

Thank you kindly ahjah. I heard that there is a hack for P6. Chromium mentioned it as well.

  I think it in October, he kindly said he was going to post me a disc with it on, with some other things as well. I don't know if he was able to send the disc though. I hope that he is well though .

I like P7 , one can also use it with Anime Studio 7. I managed to get it on eBay but P7's still in the USA, at a friend's house there; with Coronavirus lockdown & everything else it hasn't been sent yet.
 



 
avatar
 rico Gender: Male
Not Too Shy To Talk
Not Too Shy To Talk
Ese
Ese
 
Warnings: 1 
Joined: April 2019
Posts: 73
Tomatoes 630
Lemons 92
hearts 77

  • Back to top Page bottom
 

Post Re: Just Curious: Why Is Poser 6 So Slow?

#4  aqua1955 15 Feb 2021 18:06

Hi Rico, do you have enough memory to your system?
How about your videocart?
Those are all things that use memory, but also help you to render your files.
Special now where files get bigger and bigger.
Daz for example asks as a minimum videocart to render a Nvidia RTX2060 and 32GB of RAM
The render engines use your videocart and old poserfiles were not that way.
Also rendering with a AMD cart will behave that way, because it can't handle the shader files.
This way they might hick-up using old files also.
I understand the problems and sometimes all runs to quick to catch up.
 



 
avatar
nl.png aqua1955 Gender: Male
Lurker Surfer
Lurker Surfer
Fresh Fish
Fresh Fish
 
Joined: February 2021
Location: Netherlands near the Northsea
Posts: 1
Tomatoes 10
Lemons 0
hearts 5

  • Back to top Page bottom
 

Post Re: Just Curious: Why Is Poser 6 So Slow?

#5  rico 15 Feb 2021 20:03

Thank you kindly aqua1955!

Yes, files are much bigger these days. I compare the file size of PhilW's items for Posette P4, e.g. a jacket or dress, to the file sizes of clothing items for V4 or Genesis, & I wonder, "Is it really necessary to have such large files for 3D items these days?"

There are also some textures which I huge, then I just don't download it.

We need to return to efficiency, not merely chase detail & hyper-realism all the time. Realism is great, there are some AWESOME Posette renders here, & I bet the file sizes are much smaller than other figures.

Poser 6 is 'odd', in that it has these issues.

The same issues do not occur if I render in Poser 11 using a Poser 6 Firefly setting.
 



 
avatar
 rico Gender: Male
Not Too Shy To Talk
Not Too Shy To Talk
Ese
Ese
 
Warnings: 1 
Joined: April 2019
Posts: 73
Tomatoes 630
Lemons 92
hearts 77

  • Back to top Page bottom
 

Post Re: Just Curious: Why Is Poser 6 So Slow?

#6  ahjah 15 Feb 2021 21:51

Hi and welcome aqua1955

I use to say, you don't need HiRes for art, you need it for porn

That's not completely right, of course. You need some decent resolution for printing i.e.
But in most cases I agree with rico. For fun use, and posting on the web, low/medium resolution will do most of the time.
All the hiRes stuff around is more or less a proof of concept of what's technically possible nowadays. For simply doing some fun renders, as we do here mainly, it makes no sense at all. It's only bloating up the runtime and the rendering time. I've posted lots of pictures here over the years, and none of them took longer than 30 sec
 




____________
Image
 
avatar
blank.gif ahjah Gender: Male
Posette enthusiast
Posette enthusiast
Life + 1
Life + 1
Chief
Chief
Old Timer
Old Timer
 
Joined: April 2003
Location: detmold/germany
Posts: 2755
Tomatoes 3720
Lemons 493
hearts 2030

  • Back to top Page bottom
 

Post Re: Just Curious: Why Is Poser 6 So Slow?

#7  rico 18 Feb 2021 02:05

Yes, like some clothing items you only use once or twice, but it takes a lot of space in your runtime, so then I just want to delete it after I applying it, to clear up space for items that are more efficient.
 



 
avatar
 rico Gender: Male
Not Too Shy To Talk
Not Too Shy To Talk
Ese
Ese
 
Warnings: 1 
Joined: April 2019
Posts: 73
Tomatoes 630
Lemons 92
hearts 77

  • Back to top Page bottom
 

Post Re: Just Curious: Why Is Poser 6 So Slow?

#8  Nik 01 Mar 2021 15:16

IIRC, a lot of problems are due to bloat: models' mega-textures plus zillion morphs...

Remember when we had 'lite' figures, allowing 'more than a few' in scene as-is ??

Likewise, the texture size and poly-count of props & sets has become 'WTF' ridiculous...

Reached point where my CAD-Tower cannot render wide, 'middling complexity' scenes via its twin GPU cards. I've had to revert to a small window for fast 'reality check' renders, then switch to CPU and walk away...

Time for 'Plan_B'...

I've now got my new 'Networked Render Box' booted to Windows, but cannot yet persuade BOX, CAD-Tower and Win'10 workgroups to play nice together. Is known issue of  Win'10 but, despite much calm advice on M$ help-pages, no reliable fix...

Seemed daft, but cost me less to build BOX' Ryzen-7 (16 thread !!) system with 32 GB RAM and a cheap 'Office' GPU card for CPU-Only network rendering than significantly upgrade *either* of CAD-Tower's now-ageing GPU cards...
{ Facepalm... }
 



 
avatar
uk.png Nik Gender: Male
Power User
Power User
Life + 1
Life + 1
 
Warnings: 1 
Joined: December 2003
Posts: 634
Tomatoes 5110
Lemons 3386
hearts 57

  • Back to top Page bottom
 

Post Re: Just Curious: Why Is Poser 6 So Slow?

#9  rico 01 Mar 2021 18:14

I appreciate the realism in 3D, but it is, as you say, bloated . It's not like we all have render-farms.

  I find that simpler 3D models & textures can be just as effective for my purpose. And some of the portrait renders ahjah did are just AWESOME ! So, why do I need SOOO many more polygons & pixels?

"Is known issue of Win'10 but, despite much calm advice on M$ help-pages, no reliable fix..." ... what is the issue ?
 



 
avatar
 rico Gender: Male
Not Too Shy To Talk
Not Too Shy To Talk
Ese
Ese
 
Warnings: 1 
Joined: April 2019
Posts: 73
Tomatoes 630
Lemons 92
hearts 77

  • Back to top Page bottom
 

Post Re: Just Curious: Why Is Poser 6 So Slow?

#10  Nik 03 Mar 2021 15:04

I vaguely remember a tutorial on 'un-bloating' figures by removing morphs. Intended to create a base for crafting clothing, may be useful for 'cocktail party' figures in middle-distance...

Sorry, I've not a clue where, the author, free or $$, illustrated text or link to YouTube, but I've certainly noticed it within last six months...


So, have two Win'10 PCs (Home = CAD-Tower and Pro = Render-Box) with default WORKGROUP workgroups. Set both to 'allow discovery' etc, their relevant folders etc to unlocked etc etc, but they flatly refuse to communicate.

IP Scanner finds both systems, they're certainly on same sub-net of my local network.

Yet 'Pro' PC cannot see the 'Home'. 'Home' PC sees 'Pro' but cannot access it, claiming needs administrator intervention to set credentials. WTF ?? I *am* the administrator...

IIRC, M$ killed the 'group wizard' when it retired 'homegroups'. {Spit !! }

Have now heard of another approach, which is to delete those default workgroups and start over...
 



 
Last edited by Nik on 03 Mar 2021 15:14; edited 1 time in total 
avatar
uk.png Nik Gender: Male
Power User
Power User
Life + 1
Life + 1
 
Warnings: 1 
Joined: December 2003
Posts: 634
Tomatoes 5110
Lemons 3386
hearts 57

  • Back to top Page bottom
 

Post Re: Just Curious: Why Is Poser 6 So Slow?

#11  rico 03 Mar 2021 17:59

Thank you for reminding me that I can remove some morphs to lighten the load on a scene .

It sounds odd that they don't see each other . I prefer Windows 7, things seemed to work so well there .
 



 
avatar
 rico Gender: Male
Not Too Shy To Talk
Not Too Shy To Talk
Ese
Ese
 
Warnings: 1 
Joined: April 2019
Posts: 73
Tomatoes 630
Lemons 92
hearts 77

  • Back to top Page bottom
 

Post Re: Just Curious: Why Is Poser 6 So Slow?

#12  Nik 03 Mar 2021 18:59

Changed default workgroups to 'BOX'. Took several (!!) re-boots for the 'Pro' system to accept, but still won't play nice.

Ha !!

Have just discovered 'network path' file sharing option which, **in addition** to offering a 'name-input' field, has drop-down list including 'Everyone'...

And relevant folder is now accessible...

{Facepalm...}
 



 
avatar
uk.png Nik Gender: Male
Power User
Power User
Life + 1
Life + 1
 
Warnings: 1 
Joined: December 2003
Posts: 634
Tomatoes 5110
Lemons 3386
hearts 57

  • Back to top Page bottom
 

Post Re: Just Curious: Why Is Poser 6 So Slow?

#13  rico 03 Mar 2021 19:20

& so we learn... when we are challenged to discover a viable solution ...

Glad it's working now
 



 
avatar
 rico Gender: Male
Not Too Shy To Talk
Not Too Shy To Talk
Ese
Ese
 
Warnings: 1 
Joined: April 2019
Posts: 73
Tomatoes 630
Lemons 92
hearts 77

  • Back to top Page bottom
 

Post Re: Just Curious: Why Is Poser 6 So Slow?

#14  ahjah 03 Mar 2021 20:05

Quote:
I vaguely remember a tutorial on 'un-bloating' figures by removing morphs. Intended to create a base for crafting clothing, may be useful for 'cocktail party' figures in middle-distance...


You can always use Mr. X's Morphmanager for this job.
Should be available still @ RR's freestuff or @ ShareCG.

You'll find it at this page also
https://web.archive.org/web/2019032.../utilities.html

Along with much more useful info

P.S. It's one of the most important tools in Poser realm, and I think it's free for redist, so I'll upload it here, too
http://www.posetteforever.com/dload.php?action=file&file_id=744
 




____________
Image
 
avatar
blank.gif ahjah Gender: Male
Posette enthusiast
Posette enthusiast
Life + 1
Life + 1
Chief
Chief
Old Timer
Old Timer
 
Joined: April 2003
Location: detmold/germany
Posts: 2755
Tomatoes 3720
Lemons 493
hearts 2030

  • Back to top Page bottom
 

Post Re: Just Curious: Why Is Poser 6 So Slow?

#15  rico 03 Mar 2021 22:12

Yes indeed, it is very useful! Thank you very much ahjah   
 



 
avatar
 rico Gender: Male
Not Too Shy To Talk
Not Too Shy To Talk
Ese
Ese
 
Warnings: 1 
Joined: April 2019
Posts: 73
Tomatoes 630
Lemons 92
hearts 77

  • Back to top Page bottom
 


HideWas this topic useful?
Link this topic
URL
BBCode
HTML

Page 1 of 1
 



Users browsing this topic: 0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 1 Visitor
Registered Users: None