I Need Help With a Prop.

Page 1 of 1

Post I Need Help With a Prop.

#1  helldorado13 09 Sep 2006 22:53

Hello there,

I need some help and I thought this might be the place to request it.

My situation:  

I'm working on a Star Trek animation and I'm trying to create a Klingon (like the ones you'd see in the TOS movies) with the forehead bumps.

I've been playing around with 3D animation for about 4-5 years now. I' started off with Bryce3D and now I'm working with MAX. For years I used Poser to create my actors, then I'd do an export/import to bryce where I'd set them into the scenes. This worked Ok for a while but I'm now at the point where I need to use Poser to 'bring my actors to life'.

I wanted to make a forehead with ridges like the ones you'd see on a TOS era Klingon but I'm not very good with the whole 'morph' thing in Poser. When I try to use it, I end up with something that looks like a guy who has been hit in the forehead with a baseball bat.

So I decided to do a workaround... Here's my issue...

I made my Klingon character in Poser and saved the file. I then exported the file from Poser and into MAX.

I deleted everything I didn't need (everything from the neck down and everything around the forehead area) and turned the head into an editable mesh. I then created a very nice forehead that has all of the bumps and other freaky looking Klingon characteristics. I imported (into MAX) the Poser image for my character's face. Once I dropped that onto the forehead (in MAX) and saw that it lined up, I exported the bump-forehead mesh and imported it into Poser.

The item came in looking great except for one thing... It's 'Safety Orange' and I cannot seem to get the texture to come with it.

Can somebody either tell me how to get the texture onto the item or how I can morph the face of my Poser character so that it has the forehead ridges?

Thank you in advance.

helldorado13 Gender: Male
Potential Regular
Potential Regular
Life + 1
Life + 1

Tomatoes 60